Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi

I don’t mean to rush to finish off our explorations of the eight limbs of yoga – it’s just that the last three limbs are very closely tied together and I find it easier to think of them as a natural progression of one.

In one word, each of these limbs could be described as follows:
Dharana – Concentration
Dhyana – Meditation
Samadhi – Union

Really, it’s your focus that evolves your practice from one to the next.

Concentration is improved by various breathing exercises and meditation techniques (such as Trataka). Experiencing a flow state can also be a form of Dharana. Meditation is the state achieved when your focus remains unbroken. There may be distracting variables all around you, but the techniques you’ve practiced again and again and again will allow you to maintain your tranquility in a deeper state of Being. (That’s why practice is so important 🤓)

Following this path of utmost concentration, the next step would be the union between yourself and the Divine. What is the Divine? I think we have many words that are really just describing one notion: God, the Universe, Allah, Gaia, the Cosmos, etc.. This Oneness is often considered enlightenment 💡.  It’s important to remember that everyone’s journey to Samadhi is different. There is no right or wrong way to practice, as long as your intention is one of peace and love.

So there you go, you now have a basic understanding of the eight limbs of yoga. Congratulations! 👏 

Questions? Leave a comment or message me directly. If you’re interested in learning more, I offer yoga lessons customized to your wants and needs 🤗 See you soon!


P.S. I’m chatting a bunch about spirituality over on Instagram right now, so feel free to join me there @radiantearthling

One thought on “Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: